Author Spotlight

In the Graveyard Antemortem

Stephen Stromp

99¢ on Kindle

SCREAM Magazine calls In the Graveyard Antemortem "an engaging, creepy mystery."

Winner of Amazon's reader-powered Kindle Scout program. Seventeen-year-old Lisa Jacobs is determined to solve her father's gruesome murder. But before she can investigate in her own small town, she is forced to spend the summer with her Uncle Clayton, the owner of Grand Hallow--a massive funeral and mortuary operation the size of a small city. Her move to Grand Hallow only deepens the mystery as she begins to suspect the strange and chilling occurrences there are linked to her father's death. With the help of her acid-tongued best friend and deadbeat brother, Lisa must unravel the secrets of Grand Hallow--before it's too late. 

In the Graveyard Antemortem is a mystery/suspense novel with a healthy dash of horror.

“You couldn't never imagine the twists this book have! It is a mix of paranormal with very boring normal characters, some of them a little bit psycho... But what can you expect from a mortuary employee with criminal instincts? Well, you have a young heroine who sometimes is just like a normal teen, with a friend that was sometimes bold and sometimes a little bit slow minded. A bunch of suspect characters that, in the end, are very innocents and some others that aren't so. In a pair of words: Buy it! If you like thrillers and paranormal stories, this is the one you must read!”

Stephen Stromp

My writing typically has a dark twist. I like to dabble in different genres depending on where the story takes me. I hate having to classify writing into a genre, but "they" say I have to in order to market books. So how about: dark fantasy, mystery, horror, young adult, fable, low fantasy, supernatural, magical realism, speculative fiction, suspense. 

My first book, a short novel titled Cracking Grace, is a dark fantasy that explores relationships, loss and spirituality. 

In the Graveyard Antemortem is my first full-length novel. It is a mystery and suspense novel with a healthy dash of horror. I never wanted to write a mystery novel (and not sure I ever will again), but I did anyway because the story forced me to. I'm super excited for it's release. ITGA was a winner of Amazon’s reader-powered Kindle Scout program. The e-book (Kindle) is published exclusively for Amazon by Kindle Press. The paperback is published by JournalStone Publishing and will be available from various retailers. 

Despite writing dark fiction, I'm a tree-hugging vegetarian into animal welfare issues. I love Halloween, haunted houses and the 80s. 

Recent Tweets